Ed Orgeron, LSU’s defensive line coach, says he would be interested in returning to the ACC school, which announced Monday it will dismiss coach Scott Shafer following the season finale against Boston College.

MORE: SN Power Rankings | Chad Carr loses battle with cancer

“First of all, my days at Syracuse were fantastic,” Orgeron told Syracuse.com. “I learned a lot under Coach (Paul) Pasqualoni. I know Coach (Dick) MacPherson and a lot of ex-players and a lot of players who are there now.”

Orgeron served as an assistant to Pasqualoni from 1995-97. He also served as head coach at Ole Miss from 2005-07 and at USC on an interim basis in 2013 after the Trojans fired Lane Kiffin.

Orgeron has been considered one of the best recruiters in college football.

“I have a lot of respect for Syracuse. Great private school, great education, great tradition,” he said. “So, obviously, my interest would be very high. I’d be highly interested in getting that job. I think it would be a wonderful opportunity to go back there.”